Many of my buyers insist on driving by a house before we tour it. They feel like they need to assess the house’s worthiness with a simple glance at its facade.
And, if they don’t like what they see from the outside - if it doesn't have curb appeal, they take a hard pass and nix it.
But is it fair? Is it giving the house justice? Maybe we can size up our online dates in an instant (or even quicker); but is it right to dismiss a house simply because of its appearance? Are we so damn shallow that we treat our house search as poorly as we treat our potential spouse?
The front of the house is not even where you live. You don’t make your morning coffee on the front of the house. You don’t take a hot bath on the front of the house. You don’t host a dinner party on the front of the house. You don’t organize your underwear on the front of the house. And you don't put your kids in time-out on the front of the house (well, hopefully not).
All of your living and life events happen on the INSIDE of the house.
The front of the house is simply that: the front of the house. No more, no less.
So, people, why not do something crazy, something so extraordinary, something so seemingly useless and unworthy of your precious seven minutes, and…GO INSIDE THE DAMN HOUSE.
I repeat: GO INSIDE THE DAMN HOUSE.
See what awaits: how it feels, how the light filters through, how it’s finished, how the closets are organized, how the formal spaces integrate with the hang-out spaces, how well it's been taken care of (or neglected horribly), how high the ceilings are, how the kitchen flows, how the bedroom configuration works.
See how people live in it, how YOU might live in it.
It may just surprise you. And please me (the most important thing, of course).
Have a great weekend!
Best,
Brad